top of page
  • Writer's pictureDarri

Top Reverse Harem Anime 2019 / 2020!



10th place: AKATSUKI NO YONA


(I will try my best not to spoil any of the animes on the list). I have mixed feelings about Akatsuki No Yona a.k.a Yona Of The Dawn if you wish. You may be wondering why it is on my list of the top 10 reverse harem anime... It is because everything is good except the ending and the whole story line becomes heavy after a while. The characters are actually well thought of...Princess Yona is absolutely stunning and her personality is everything! Son Hak is also a whole snack... I mean- yes. The beginning is even more awesome however the ending is hella weird. I am being very critical but ultimately I hate when an anime is heavy and has no proper ending + no second season to compensate with the confusing end. Do NOT @ me. Thank you!


9TH place: KAMISAMA HAJIMEMASHITA


Kamisama Hajimemashita or Kamisama Kiss is one of the funniest reverse harem I have seen. It has a middle ground between funny and romance. Urggg it is a good anime but it is still among bottom of my list because I did not have much feelings towards it after I was done with the anime. Bare in mind that I watched this as soon as it came out which is around my highschool years. Bad memories comes with highschool and I am over it now so maybe that's why I don't have this much attachment to it but hey it is still on my top list so it surely beats "Bonjour Sweet Love Patisserie" and "Brothers' Conflict". I would put it as the same rank as "La Corda D'oro" but compared to the latter, believe it or not, it has so much sense.


8TH place: OURAN HIGHSCHOOL HOST CLUB (Fight me)


Haters gonna hate but Ouran Highschool Host Club is worth the 8th place in my humble opinion. I mean its funny, there is a fun and hilarious kind of romance butI find it "decently good" if that makes sense. I already watched the live action and at this point I don't think I can watch this anime a second time because I am already over it. If you are in your teenage years, I highly advise you to watch this. Let us go a little bit deeper... it reminds me, now that I am an adult, of the hosting in the Japanese culture. It resemble a light funny version of this rather dark world. Anyways really good anime but there is much better than this on the list though.


7TH place: DIABOLIK LOVERS

They messed up on the second season. I do not even want to talk about this. It could have been in the top 3 oof. Okay so, Diabolik Lovers was amazing in season 1. It did not make so much sense but compared to season 2... it did! I love the fact that it looks innocent but has a decent amount of profanity. I think it will be great to audiences around 16 - 18 years old. Then oof season 2 came and everything was great until the ending episodes. Can someone actually explains this to me cause I was and I am still very much confused and annoyed. However, it is still a worth-it anime. I do recommend it.


6TH place: MEIJI TOKYO RENKA

So... this was a little gem of this year for me. I won't go much in details because again...not trying to spoil but this anime has funny factor and the romance factor mixed with a lot of fantasy. As an anime I would give it a 7/10 just because i wanted more of actual romance and I did not like the choice of the girl in the end, which you might or will know if you watch the anime. The characters are amazingly well designed. It is one of those animes that you can multitask while watching or you can actually have a day off and watch every episodes on a roll. It is pretty light and easy to follow and understand. Only 6th place because I honestly would not watch it again. Once is enough.


5TH place: ARCANA FAMIGLIA

This is a little baby of mine. Back then, it was my first time watching an anime where the girl is strong and not a little innocent girl around a bunch or horny boys (yes I said it). It definitely catches ones' attention with great fight scene. It is at the 5th place only because there is not much romance actually. Great and unique outfits and characters for a reverse harem. 100% would recommend La Storia Della Arcana Famiglia. The protagonist, Felicita (which means "happiness" in Italian) is dope and powerful. Completely something fresh and original from other reverse harems. The ending could have been much better but I am not angry against it.


4TH place: DANCE WITH DEVIL

Everything is great except for some details... barely any romance and awkward singing. Right now it is in 4th place but I am giving a chance of a second season. If there is none then I think it will have to go down the list. I am THAT cruel uwu. It is one of the best reverse harem anime but it got me go from ^o^ to -_- every single time there was a singing moment like please stwaaaap. I love the two main protagonist though, I do ship them together. Real cuties! Please do watch it, it is worth it.


3RD place: HIIRO NO KAKERA

I am tired of writing but here is my top 3! 3rd on my list (the only list that matters by the way) is Hiiro No Kakera. This anime is a 9/10. Anything from the start to the ending to the characters to me being emotional was absolutely amazing. I would watch it a second time all over again and the opening song is just too good. You know when you find aa great opening song and you are like this anime is gonna be THE shit. Well... it is THE shit. Those who watched it understand why it is 3rd on my list. For real though, the story line was to die for. Those who has not watched it yet, I highly recommend to go see the whole anime and its 2 seasons. Now. Please. Go.


2ND place: HAKUOKI

Hakuoki got me crying and emotional for weeks. I was even debating putting it first on the list. This anime is everything, the story line, the characters, the love story. Those shinsengumi serving looks oof. To be honest, I would not watch it again because I would literally be an emotional reck all over again. Just look at the trailer on YT. I don't having anything to say about this anime, it is perfection!

1ST place: VAMPIRE KNIGHT

HAKAKU HAKAKU HAKAKUUUUU!!! Its just a masterpiece and I am "guilty" of starting the anime all over again. Excuse me but I am team Zero. There should have been a season 3 but it has been years now so its impossible at this point. It just feels unfinished but I am not even slightly mad about it. It is the best reverse harem anime out there and it has been years since it was out. Old but Gold!


I tried my best not to give any spoilers or summary for those who have not watch some of them. I have watched more reverse harem like Uta no Prince Sama, Brothers' Conflict and more but they are not better than the one in my list.


Thank you for reading,

Darri.

35,066 views2 comments
bottom of page